The Cross of Freedom and Solidarity awarded to anti-communist activists

The General Consul of Poland in Australia, Dr Monika Konczyk, representing Polish President, awarded former activists of the Polish anti-communist oppositionist Roman Bogdan Bordakiewicz and Ryta Helena Zawodzinska (post-mortem) with the Cross of Freedom and Solidarity.



Awarded: Roman Bordakiewicz and son of Helena Zawodzińska

Konsul Generalny Dr Monika Kończyk presenting awards

The official ceremony has taken place in the Polish General Consulate in Sydney on 16th of December 2021.

The General Consul of Poland welcomed the former activists of Solidarity with the words:

Two dates: the 17th of December 1970 and the 13th of December 1982 they are two dates which come together in full when Poles were screaming for freedom and independence.

After singing the national anthem a young guitarist performed two legendary songs: "Janek Wisniewski" and "Mury" (see links below)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/wqvok70t9k1ab1x/Video%2016-12-21%2C%206%2059%2003%20pm.mov?dl=0

Then the President of Federation of Polish Association in NSW Adam Gajkowski greeted Solidarity activists and gave speech to the people who were present at ceremony.



President of Polish Federation in NSW Adam Gajkowski



Activists of Solidarity movement present at the ceremony

A string quartet and soprano singer which performed the works of famous Polish composers, added splendour to the ceremony.

The Cross of Freedom and Solidarity was established in August 2010 by Polish Parliament. In 2011 it was firstly awarded to honour the members of the democratic opposition in Radom in 1976.

The Cross of Freedom and Solidarity is awarded by the Polish President on the request of the President of the Institute of National Remembrance.



The Cross of Freedom and Solidarity is like the Cross of Independence which was awarded to individuals before the II World War who had fought actively for the independence of Poland between 1918- 1938.

Written by: Danuta Piotrowska

(Photos by: Danuta Piotrowska)